Gaiman’s First Law and Perfectionism

Gaiman’s First Law: Picking up your first copy of a book you wrote, if there’s one typo, it will be on the page that your new book falls open to the first time you pick it up.

So, I recently discovered this law (and by recently I mean mere moments ago), and I’ve not only come to the conclusion that it’s true, but also that I’ve been condemned to never again read my book.

Okay, so what Gaiman’s First Law means is essentially that if you reread the published copy of the second book you wrote, then you’ll find a typo. Actually, if you reread any of the books you’ve written, except for the first one, then you’ll find a typo.

So, you can probably understand why I’m never reading Life in Tatters again. To clear something up, I am a perfectionist. Now, I am not saying that this is a good thing – in fact it’s pretty much the opposite – and I sometimes wish I wasn’t one. However, I can’t really change that.

black_perfectionist_by_fallsmet_answer_1_xlargeNow you’re all probably thinking that, “Oh, poor her – she likes to do things properly. Boo Hoo,” or something similar to that. But the thing about perfectionism is that you’re never truly satisfied. You never feel like you’ve done the best you could, because in the back of you’re mind, you keep on thinking that there was something else you could’ve done. That no matter what you do, it could always be better.

Again, I emphasis that this is not a good thing.

And if I find 1 typo in my book – and it doesn’t even have to be a typo that’s noticeable to anyone else – I will be like, “Ok, stop the publishing and everything. Burn every copy. I need to fix this, and then we’ll just restart the process.”

So, if you read my book, and find a typo, do not inform me of it, or I will become so anxious and annoying that someone will end up killing me.

But what. About. You? Are you a perfectionist as well? Have you ever experienced Gaiman’s First Law? Let me know in the comments below.

 

*On a side note – I am not looking forward to Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

