A Philosophical Thought on Insanity

Hello my fellow internetees? I’m not sure exactly what I’m supposed to call you guys… practically all the good names are already taken, so for now I guess I’m stuck with internetees.

Oh well!

So, this is simply going to be me philosophizing about insanity, and the meaning of our lives,  what we should spend our time doing, etc. Yes, it’s all very… philosophical.

On side not, it’s been made aware to me that I abundantly use “…”. Do you guys agree? I can try to stop… He, he, obviously not!

But back to the philosophizing – I’ve recently had an… epiphany, if you will. Whenever we read books, or watch movies, or watch TV series, or even write, we believe in things that don’t technically exist. We feel compassion for things that aren’t there, we emphasize with people that don’t exist, we cry, or laugh, as it were, for things that aren’t real. We become momentarily insane.

True, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, excepting a different outcome, but there is another definition of insanity, which is it’s a state of when someone is mentally ill.

Of course, I’m not saying that we’re all mentally ill, but for a moment, for a little while, we are at least delusional.

And this, of course, brings up the question of why were seeking this momentary lunacy. Are our lives really all that bad? Do we need to escape from reality? Why do we want to leave our own lives?

Maybe the only thing we’re doing is trying to find a creative and/or emotional outlet. A way to relax.

But I’m just a sixteen year old, sipping ice-tea and thinking about her freshman graduation.

What do I know?

But, just to end this on a philosophical note, what do any of us really know about anything?

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

