On the Subject of Television

Hello my fellow internetees! So, yet another lazy summer day going by, and I can honestly say that I’m enjoying every second. Although I do have concrete plans of go-carting, fantasy conventions, and amusement parks, I have to say I rather enjoy the days like this one – where I have nothing planned whatsoever.

However, much to my disgust, I find myself staying indoors watching TV, instead of going out and enjoying the lovely temperature and sun. Now, don’t get me wrong – I do go out rollerblading, running, swimming, sunbathing, biking, etc. I just feel like I’m watching way too much TV.

The thing is, though, I live in Thailand, but I am on “vacation” in my home country, Sweden. TV in Thailand is, in one word, awful. There are three channels I can watch, because the rest of them are either sports channels or in Thai (which is a language that I don’t speak). So, the thing is, I don’t watch TV on a regular basis – seriously, I don’t watch more than maybe one hour per week… if even that.

top-gear-10But now, everything on the television is so normal and familiar – and after 10 months of barely anything normal or familiar, it’s great… normal television. And although this has resulted in me watching more TV than I perhaps should, in my defense, I’m making up for 10 months of barley any TV watching.

And also, they send out Top Gear several times a day, and I can’t resist Top Gear.

If you don’t know what Top Gear is – it’s essentially a car channel, that has very little to do with cars, and more to do with hysterical british humor. I particularly enjoy the episode where they try to make amphibious cars, but that’s just me…

Ok, back to topic – watching TV might not be the worst thing in the world, but I think I’m going to try to be outside more and do more “social things”.

So what about you? Do you feel like you watch too much TV? Too little? Let me know in the comments section below!

TV-Color-Bars