Are We Human or Are We Dancer?

Hello my fellow internet-addicts! So, I recently listened to this song called Human by the Killers. First off, it’s important that I say what an exceptionally good song this is, particularly the lyrics. Check it out below before you look at my little explanation.

“Brandon Flowers from the Killers said that the lyrics were inspired by a disparaging comment made by Hunter S. Thompson, where he stated America was raising “a generation of dancers” (basically suggesting that americans lacked the imagination to be original instead of copying others).”

the-killers-human-coverFrom a lyrical perspective, the Killers have generated a lot of metaphors – the word dancer could almost be substituted for puppet. The diction of the song is also important, for example the word “cord” could relate back to the strings of a puppet, and the words “cut the cord” is a metaphor for becoming your own person, cutting the strings that make you the puppet.

The really great thing is that he’s never really sure whether he is a human or a dancer.

And so the question arises, are we human or are we dancer?

Are we completely are own persons, or are controlled by others?

You want to know what I say? Lets be both. At least in the sense that we are our own persons, but we’re still being influenced by others. I am human, but I am also dancer.

_____________________

So let me know what you think? Do you agree with my conclusions? Disagree? Let me know in the comment section!

Leave a Reply

